Cafe Intermezzo vs Smart Alec’s: A Tale of Two Salads

saladvs

When I got off work today the thought of the food in my fridge was so unappealing so I went to lunch. Alone. Happens as often as a solar eclipse. After ten minutes of deliberation I decided to skip my easy/cheap/delicious fallback option of Intermezzo/Mattina and go to Smart Alec’s. Thought I’d give their veggie salad (~$6) a try even though reliable sources have told me Intermezzo is unbeatable. Main reason: it is three blocks closer to campus and I’m getting over a cold.

So I hauled my body over there for some colorful, nutritious fare and then made this handy chart. They seem so similar, romaine, carrots, sprouts, croutons, egg, slice of bread, served with the same bowl and fork. But there are some obvious differencesSalads

So the pro list for Intermezzo is way longer and more significant. Smart Alec’s honey mustard dressing was lame, and I should’ve gotten their poppyseed to do a true comparison. Next time I’ll surely walk the extra blocks. Still, Smart Alec’s has the best (only?) cornbread and vegan chowder in the area!

for Smart Alec’s

Food UntitledUntitledUntitled

Service UntitledUntitledUntitled

Value UntitledUntitledUntitledUntitled

Ambiance UntitledUntitledUntitled

2 thoughts on “Cafe Intermezzo vs Smart Alec’s: A Tale of Two Salads

  1. Pingback: Happy Salads | avocado a-go-go!

Leave a Reply

