Another Daytrip to Santa Cruz

Who knows when I’ll go back again!

I am sleepy and have a ten hours of work today, so if you wanted to try back another time I wouldn’t blame you. After this weekend passes,my summer class will be gloriously ending and I’ll only have two jobs and internship applications to work on! Then I’ll be leaving one of them and going on a long trip to San Diego! Then…back to overwhelming workloads in the Fall. But I’m sure what really matters is I’ll be eating. What a lovely constant.

I’m going to post the food haps backwards, because I’m only reviewing the first place I ate that day. For dinner, we tried Mexican at Los Pinos:

free chips/salsa. I loved the large chunks of tomato/onion but this was the hottest salsa i've ever encountered. i don't like when food makes me feel wimpy

free chips/salsa. I loved the large chunks of tomato/onion but this was the hottest salsa i've ever encountered. i dont like when food makes me feel wimpy

my veggie taco, no cheese. i dont like corn tortillas either. avocado's looking a little meager. i dunno what the thought process behind this was, but they didn't have any salad on the menu

my veggie taco, no cheese. i dont like corn tortillas either. avocado's looking a little meager. i dunno what my thought process behind this was, but they didn't have any salad on the menu

so much better! M loved the crispified flour tortilla on her veggie burrito. it was so large/soft/warm, like a delicious baby.

so much better! M loved the crispified flour tortilla on her veggie burrito. it was so large/soft/warm, like a delicious baby. still, mexican food in the US is all the same ingredients in different combos/presentation to me

Marini's ice cream/candy shop is all over SC! Old fashioned, beach-side soda fountain vibe. This is a single-scoop sundae with strawberry/cake batter ice cream, hot fudge, whipped cream, and peanuts. Ice cream was a little over the top, i'd go with vanilla next time

Marini's ice cream/candy shop is all over SC! Old fashioned, beach-side soda fountain vibe. This is a single-scoop sundae with strawberry/cake batter ice cream, hot fudge, whipped cream, and peanuts. Ice cream was a little over the top, i'd go with vanilla next time

The place on my must-eat list this trip was a cute food kiosk in the middle of town called Alfresco, serving vegetarian/vegan rice bowls, wraps, salads, and sandwiches. Their menu is a dream for people like me who like to choose their food specifically.image002

i'm sorry this doesnt look less gross. she doused it in amazing lemon/tahini sauce

i'm sorry this doesnt look less gross. she doused it in amazing lemon/tahini sauce

For example, you can choose wheat/rice paper wraps or salads with 1-4 main ingredients out of their list of like, 15. They’re all different and unique, like eggplant caponata, marinated feta, shitake mushrooms, chickpeas, not to mention several types of nuts, tofu, veg sausage(!), etc. They make seven sauces that each sound delicious in their own right for your salad or to dip your wraps in. There was nothing I didn’t want to try on the menu.

As the picture shows, I created my own salad for 5 with an extra dollar for some warm brown rice on top – so it was more like their rice bowl. For the salad you pick five additional items and I chose sun-dried tomatoes, marinated artichokes, teriyaki tofu, roasted red pepper, and shitake mushrooms. The only thing I would’ve preferred  is more lettuce and fresh veggies in the salad. No more words necessary, I’m lazy and skipping to reviews

Food UntitledUntitledUntitledUntitled

Service UntitledUntitledUntitled

Value UntitledUntitledUntitledUntitled

Ambiance UntitledUntitledUntitledUntitled

Leave a Reply

