Favorite SD Spot: Nature’s Express

I never explored San Diego that much when I was living there, and certainly not the handful of vegetarian restaurants but! Whenever I visit now I try to fit them in. On my vacation week down there I had so much good veg food, which my pals were sweet enough to indulge me in.

The restaurant has two buildings - one for takeout and hot food, like veggie burgers and delectable sweet potato fries (with homemade ketchup) and the other with the salad bar, desserts, dining area, etc.

The restaurant has two buildings - one for takeout and hot food, like veggie burgers and delectable sweet potato fries (with homemade ketchup) and the other with the salad bar, desserts, dining area, etc.

The location of this place is superb, on 5th Ave. next to Balboa Park near Hillcrest (my regular haunt) and right next to Extraordinary Desserts, which is its own SD legend.

Everything on the menu looks delicious and vegan, if you don’t count certain burgers at the drive thru – and it is EXTENSIVE. Check it: faux meats, vegan soft serve, tempeh, pies and cakes, italian-style veggie bakes, veg indian food, wraps, soups, “chick’n” and gravy, brunch food like waffles/pancakes, etc. etc. etc.

1/3 of the salad bar. The prices are kind of unbelievable. 3 for a small plate that you can pack up to 2 inches (who ever follows that rule) and larger ones for 7.50

1/3 of the salad bar. The prices are kind of unbelievable. 3 for a small plate that you can pack up to 2 inches (who ever follows that rule) and larger ones for 7.50

I don’t know how popular the raw food lifestyle is everywhere else, but it’s had a huge growth where I live and on food blogs on-line. In the Bay Area it’s really hard on the wallet to eat at raw restaurants all the time, but I could not believe how affordable Nature’s Express was. They have an entire section of the salad bar dedicated to raw/live foods, which often takes a lot of intense prep work/exotic ingredients if you’re trying to replicate it at home. I came mostly to eat the raw food, like raw hummus, tabbouleh, zucchini noodles with creamy marinara, sea veggie salad, and so on. But I also tried some sweet potato fries. And a baked spinach square. And gravy. Aaaand chocolate “cheese”cake.

Is this not glorious. I am an engineer of record-breaking towers of food

Is this not glorious. I am an engineer of record-breaking towers of food. It was NOT 2 inches...if you know what I mean.

I loved everything. Every component was its own unique dish, fresh, flavorful, with the perfect amount of seasoning to make it sing. The condiment bar also had amazing raw food staples such as shoyu sauce, nutritional yeast, bragg’s, agave, and so on. I could not have been more excited and I scared myself as well the others inside. The waiter was unflappable though, prob because of all his spiritual enlightenment, which can also be yours if you sign up for classes he teaches on the side. I’m pretty fascinated by this amusing lifestyle they always try to market. I totally believe in the health benefits of raw veganism but I’m kind of spiritually barren and not sure if even an avocado can change that.

raw and cooked desserts! most run for 5 a piece, compared to 8 in my area

raw and cooked desserts! most run for 5 a piece, compared to 8 in my area

I think I took a picture of the chocolate cheesecake I had, but didn’t get it from my friend. I’m not a huge fan of cheesecake, but I thought it was raw so I tried it, but now I’m not so sure it was. Anyway, it was very delicious but I was in a delusional state of rapture and everything I ate tasted like manna. Which I would also be interested in eating. Manna party!

I love the enthusiastic signs. I feel them!

I love the enthusiastic signs. I feel them!

They seriously discount their already cheap food? I am ready to drop out and move across the street from this place. Those bottles you see below this shelf is kombucha! I have mixed feelings about kombucha, but I know if I drank it more often we’d have an addiction in our hands. I don’t know anything else that tastes so nasty/delicious. Maybe it’s like cheese for some folks.

I ate until I could eat no more and then was rolled to Ex. Desserts

food guacamole

Service UntitledUntitledUntitledUntitled

Value guacamole

Ambiance UntitledUntitledUntitledUntitled

Staff UntitledUntitledUntitledUntitled

2 thoughts on “Favorite SD Spot: Nature’s Express

  1. Pingback: Nature’s Express, Berkeley « avocado a-go-go!

Leave a Reply

