Udupi Palace: Eat Like A King

Ex-roomie G (hey girl I mentioned you now leave me a comment) recommended the South Indian vegetarian restaurant Udupi Palace to me many times but I never made it there until yesterday. Their menu is focused on

dosas: thin rice crepes filled with delicious spiced veggies or beans or grains

uthappam: thick, soft rice/lentil pancakes paired with veggies or curries or cheese

They also have a good variety of appetizers, curries, and desserts. And the obligatory lunch buffet or thalis.

I love South Indian food (other than chaat, towards which i’m neutral), which always seems to be spicier, healthier and veg obsessed. Udupi Palace is a bit further down University Ave and has a decent looking facade, leading into a really atrocious interior.

dingy chairs and tables, bad paint job of half brown half mustard, tiny dark pictures hung haphazardly. though it wasn't a hole in the wall like another Indian place I'm trying soon, it had many holes in the wall

dingy chairs and tables, bad paint job of half brown half yellow, tiny dark pictures hung haphazardly. though it wasn't a hole in the wall like another Indian place I'm trying soon, it had many holes in the wall

The staff made up for the ambiance by being extremely high on life, asking how our day was, and giving us free rice when we were dying from too much curry.

Spinach Masala Dosa (6.35) was a rice crepe smeared with spinach and stuffed with spiced potatos. Based upon description it doesn't sound like something I'd adore, but I was really hungry and the sheer size of this was marvelous. The flavorful crepe was crunchy at the edges where there was only a thin layer on spinach, and soft towards the center where it held a delicious bunde of golden potatos. There was also a lot of spinach interspersed. I would've loved more vegetables with this. Each of the sauces went perfectly with the dosa, in their own way. The one towards the left seemed like a soup - minestrone with Indian spices. We never figured out if it was soup, but I would've drank a whole tureen. The middle had a pasty consistency and was a very fragrant coconut sauce, a little sweet. The one towards the right was a mystery, but of delicious proportions. I think we loved this one the most because it was so concentrated with tomato and chili.

Spinach Masala Dosa (6.25) was a rice crepe smeared with spinach and stuffed with spiced potatos. Based upon description it doesn't sound like something I'd adore, but I was really hungry and the sheer size of this was marvelous. The flavorful crepe was crunchy at the edges where there was only a thin layer on spinach, and soft towards the center where it held a delicious bundle of golden potatoes. There was also a lot of spinach interspersed. Next time I'd get the one with more veggies

text

Each of the sauces went perfectly with the dosa, in their own way. The one on the left seemed like a soup - minestrone with Indian spices. We never figured out if it was soup, but I would've drank a whole tureen. The middle had a pasty consistency and was a very fragrant coconut sauce, a little sweet. The one on the right was a mystery, but of delicious proportions. I think we loved this one the most because it was so concentrated with tomato and chili.

J and I split both the dosa and the Kadai Bhindi (9) Okra Curry which included rice, chapati, pickle, raita, papad, and dessert (whhhat, i just got this off the website and ours most definitely didn't include dessert). This proved a little too much to eat, but we'd worry about that afterwards. I am sad that J is my only vegan friend, but happy that I got all the yogurt sauce. I didn't really like the heaviness of this deep-fried chapati, and the rice literally came in a thimble. The okra curry was fantastic, with bell pepper, onions and the most flavorful tomatoes. Lots of grease helped it stay scorching hot for a good ten minutes after it arrived. I think it could've been spicier, but I love it just as it is.

J and I split both the dosa and the Kadai Bhindi (9) Okra Curry which included rice, chapati, pickle, raita, papad, and dessert (whhhat, i just got this off the website and ours most definitely didn't include dessert). This proved a little too much to eat, but we'd worry about that afterward when we felt like exploding. I am sad that J is my only vegan friend, but happy that I got all the yogurt sauce. I didn't really like the heaviness of this deep-fried chapati, and the rice literally came in a thimble. The okra curry was fantastic, with bell pepper, onions and the most flavorful tomatoes. Lots of grease helped it stay scorching hot for a good ten minutes after it arrived. I think it could've been spicier, but I love it just as it is.

We’d both go back in a heartbeat. As soon as I decide whether forgetting dessert is forgivable

Food UntitledUntitledUntitledUntitled

Service UntitledUntitledUntitledUntitled

Value UntitledUntitledUntitled

Ambiance Untitled

4 thoughts on “Udupi Palace: Eat Like A King

  1. The pineapple uttapam is kinda of out of this world. I had at my graduation brunch. 🙂 Glad you found this place! Now… take me with you the next time? ^_^

  2. Pingback: Back To Udupi Palace « avocado a-go-go!

Leave a Reply

