Nature’s Express, Berkeley

When I eat at home and grocery shop it’s easy to be vegan, but when eating out with people obvs don’t expect them to choose vegan places so I usually don’t bother. That’s why I was over-the-moon when I got to choose this 100% vegan place! Mmm, the power of choice.

Cute and welcoming on a beautiful nearly-Spring day. I think they could've done better than a turnip mascot though.

I’ve made the lofty claim that my favorite restaurant in San Diego is Nature’s Express, because I honestly don’t think another restaurant could offer so many of my favorite foods under one roof and support such an admirable food philosophy. So when I recently heard about a new restaurant with the same name (and why is that? I’m not tickled by it) that just opened five minutes away on Solano Ave., I ran over there. I did not really run on foot, but let’s pretend I did take that extra step to improve my cardiovas health in addition to noshing vegan goodies.

suprisingly, everything is vegan even though they don't change the names of popular sandwiches like "BLT" or "Tuna Melt". The fact they had another sandwich called "Tuna-less Tuna" confused me even more. All this means that I wanted to try every single item and will have to come back several more times. Their breakfast burritos sound amaze.

I chose the Express Combo (6) for maximum food sampling, with the butternut squash soup and half a mock-tuna sandwich. I tried a sample of the other soup du jour (veggie cilantro) as well, but both lacked zing. Vegan food usually tastes more flavorful to me because people try to overcompensate, but these soups were both too bland. The sandwich probably had a ton of Veganaise and crispy bits of unidentifiable veggies. Overall, neither component of this combo was winning. Just thinking about this two hours post-meal is bumming me out.

I couldn't resist a side order of mashed cauliflower with mushroom gravy (3.5) and good thing I didn't! I don't think anyone would argue that this is the most unappealing colored (and sounding) food one could order, but I've always been curious about mashed caul and am too lazy to make it myself. It was actually a delicious vegan version of one of my fav comfort foods. The garlic punched me and I liked it.

C was very impressed by her Southwestern burger with avocado and salsa and strawberry mango smoothie. Very excited to go back and choose from their selection of 8 burgers

J’s hummus sandwich which looks like it has some kitchen sink version of hummus. I think she said it was satisfactory

Food UntitledUntitledUntitled (half – yeah, i went there)

Ambiance UntitledUntitledUntitledUntitled

Service UntitledUntitledUntitledUntitled

Value UntitledUntitledUntitled

3 thoughts on “Nature’s Express, Berkeley

  1. I can’t believe ours is called “evolution” now. If everything works out we might be able to get free food next time you come…

    Also I am glad someone is keeping up with the cardiovas fit.

  2. Pingback: Socal Eats: Part Three « avocado a-go-go!

Leave a Reply

