Regrets In Aisle Three

i have this weird obsession with trader joe’s. the other grocery stores near me are actually so much better but the fact that TJ’s is father away so i rarely go makes it dearer to my heart. the nut butter selection/price goes unsurpassed. i contemplated buying a fourth jar of nut butter today. i wavered over this jar of valencia peanut butter until i crossed that threshold between normal browsing and suspicious scrutinizing. then i put it back. i will fix this soon. to pay homage i want to do a mini-roundup, though this is perhaps half of what i’ve tried

TJ’s raw crunchy peanut butter is the one i most enjoy eating straight up. Creamy comes in second place because it doesn’t have the extra texture. Naturally sweet, without the slightly stale flavor i always pick up from butters made with roasted almonds. I don’t like to eat it with strong flavors, like jam. I only have it on toast with agave so it takes a while to get through a jar. Bananas go best with it as well..

.

TJ’s cashew butter is another one that holds its own and best left unadulterated. Had a huge phase with these atop banana waffles a while back. Otherwise, again, agave and toast.

.

.

.

.

Other nuts are tasty but I realized peanut is just too ubiquitous and reminiscent of my childhood to replace. Adore this TJ’s brand so much i’m forbidding myself to get it again so i can try others. Have it with jam and oatmeal. Second choice to pair with bananas.

.

.

.

The strong flavor of sunflower seeds is accented in butter form, and it’s almost too much for me. It took me a while to get used to it and my favorite way to eat it is with savory food. This tastes sweeter than any of the other butters, but for some reason works really well in a sauce for noodles/salad. It is magical with nutritional yeast.

.

.

Not a real nut butter but too good to leave out. Been a while since I’ve had this because it is pretty processed, has a lot of dairy, and I never know how to eat nutella. It’s fabulous alone but i never liked it too much with bread. Why would I do that when i don’t normally eat frosting on bread? It’s much better with muffins or oatmeal cookies but since i get addicted to sugar whenever i eat too much, this hasn’t been getting much action.

.

.

Almond butter with the consistency of peanut butter. I think that’s why a lot of people love this brand. Again, unless I had an allergy i’d just go with the peanut because roasted almonds have a weird flavor. And is twice as expensive

.

..

..

.

My parents have this one a lot. Gritty texture in between creamy and crunchy, which I prefer only sometimes. I think it should make up its mind for the most part. Really salty but pretty solid taste.

.

.

.

.

Peanut butter with half the calories. All I know is they take some of the fat out and add in a bunch of weird stabilizers and sugar and flavoring. no. threw it out immediately but the taste of sour coffee sticks out in my memory.

.

.

This is in my cupboard from a PB emergency earlier this week. Like an organic version of Skippy, which is acceptable but too sticky and not enough flavor. The valencia pb will prob put this out of business once I get it.

2 thoughts on “Regrets In Aisle Three

Leave a Reply

