Mission: Delicious

Last weekend S and I went to scope out neighborhoods in Oakland and SF for our move this Fall. After a quaint quiet walk around Lake Merritt, we headed to an open house in the Mission.

This area combines the perfect amount of affordable housing, delicious restaurants, literary/art culture, creative youth, Hispanic families, sun-drenched parks, thrift shops, and catholic churches. And 2 for 1 avocados. We happened across a juice bar with homemade kombucha and I thought I'd try something other then the bottled kind for once.

The Hangover - half young coconut water, half kombucha. I bought this mostly to feel healthy after a carby breakfast - the kind of health you can only get from a disgusting lukewarm $4 beverage. Clearly, I should stick to the commercial stuff if I ever need to scratch the 'bucha itch again (I don't see that happening too often). Not to be gross, but it tasted similar to what I imagine urine to taste - bland and warm but with a slight fermented kick. Next time, I'm drinking coconut water and 'bucha separately. Poor S - this is around the time she started getting a stomach ache from some probiotic hummus(?)

After the open house (we weren't seriously looking since it's too early - just getting a feel of things) I carried a limping S to Herbivore. As a well-established chain in this area, it's a convenient and reliable place to get your greens on.

I always have so much trouble choosing off their massive menu though! This veggie ceviche (7) had lime-marinated oyster mushrooms, tofu, red onions, tomatoes, cucumbers, cilantro and jalapeño peppers, served with toasted crostini. Everyone who worked here was lovely and made my food into art! An avocado man...boy they sure know the way to this girl's heart. I haven't had real ceviche before, but this dish was exactly what I'd been craving that day - fresh, bright, and still packed with fat/protein. I'm not a huge lemon/lime dressing fan, so the strong acidity was the only reason I won't get this one again - mostly because I want to try everything else first! The crostini doesn't look like much but it was chewy crusty carb-heaven.

S likes their Marinated Tofu sandwich so much she has never gotten anything else here. I can't fathom this, but I admit it was tasty alongside the mac salad. This tofu is similar to my mom's cooking though, and was too heavy on soy-sauce.

I say if we can fit into the chairs we are still children

Herbivore – The Earthly Grill

Food UntitledUntitledUntitledUntitled

Service UntitledUntitledUntitledUntitled

Value UntitledUntitledUntitled

Ambiance UntitledUntitledUntitled

Youth is forever mine! The place was packed with kids on a field trip or something, so this mini table next to the window was the only available area.

.

After dinner, we realized we misplaced our car, along with any hope for SF “street smarts”. As we roamed the area looking for a semblance of either of those things, we came across something much better: Mission Pie! I remember when this place was a tiny hidden gem that took me forever to find. Since then, they’ve expanded their space and menu to ensure ease of pie-consumption.

This vegan macaroon with cacao nibs had a chewy caramelized base. Perfect mildly-sweet treat to end on.

2 thoughts on “Mission: Delicious

Leave a Reply

