Let’s Get Sconed!

I pinched this title from one of my favorite vegan blogs. Two days into summer at my parents’ house and I’m already adjusting to domestic life – and it’s not bad at all! My mom always mentions how much she loves the scones I used to bake when I got stressed in high school, which is surprising, as they were pretty unpalatable to me. I used to bake up whatever healthy stuff we had in the pantry and call it “scones” because they were not nearly tasty/soft enough to be cake or cookies or..anything distinguishable.

Since I sprained my ankle yesterday and can’t walk at the moment, I decided to finally make some scones for her, but veganized and without margarine because we don’t have any. This is a recipe I cobbled together (as I hobbled), making sure there was lots of coconut because I think it’s the coconut that tricks her into thinking it’s tasty.

2 cups flour
1 tbsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1/4 cup sugar
1 tsp ground cinnamon
1/4 tsp nutmeg
1/4 unsweetened shredded coconut
1/4 cup walnuts
1/4 cup raisins

1 cup (unsweetened) coconut cream or coconut milk
2 tbsp ground flax seeds
1 tbsp vanilla

preheat oven to 350
combine first nine ingredients
combine coconut cream, flax seeds and vanilla in separate bowl
mix into the dry ingredients until it barely holds together
pour out the dough onto a floured surface, then press it together as gently as possible until it just comes together in a thick disk on tray
sprinkle with raw sugar and more coconut
cut into eight equal pieces and bake for 8 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted comes out clean


Weirdly enjoying being at home. Loving the extra sleep, tons of fresh fruit, a big clean shower all to myself, and lemonade from the lemon tree first thing in the morning. I even like unpacking/cleaning/purging all my belongings and going to the dentist. Can’t make any promises, but I’ll try to take advantage of the huge kitchen and feed this blog more.

One thought on “Let’s Get Sconed!

Leave a Reply

