Pakwan

While I’ve been at my parents’ house (three more days left!) I haven’t been eating out at all, until today. C lives in Fremont and had heard good things about Pakwan, so off we went. Man it is hard to choose an Indian place around these parts because there’s authentic, vegetarian Indian food on every corner. Perhaps my favorite thing about Fremont. Not much to add–their menu was really short and Indian food always tastes the same/awesome–so I’ll let photos speak for themselves.

Pakwan is that huge barn that I drove past twice and finally needed C to help me find because I was looking for a small a hole in the wall.

Line out the door's always a good sign. When they call your number there is an electronic song that plays, akin to those in airport announcements. It's the bomb and signals you to something way more exciting than a plane. Also...after looking at this photo I ask, does any color besides navy exist in Fremont?

On second thought, Indian airlines probably have really great food. I usually hate plane food so much I fast on planes but the mushy spicy qualities of Saag Daal (5.5) probably holds up really well on long flights.

I'm always in the mood for a simple daal, which makes it hard to expand my repertoire. I loved the impressive amount of sliced chili in this, but it still could've been hotter, especially when the diners are Desi. What's up with that? Thank God for those ubiquitous squeeze bottles of spicy yogurt sauce.

food UntitledUntitledUntitled

service n/a

value UntitledUntitledUntitledUntitled

ambiance UntitledUntitledUntitledUntitled (if you’re a sucker for the airline “ping”)

On a side note, I just stumbled across a food blog I used to read a lot called Chow Times, and I am still amazed at how they post 1-2 times a day, and always at least one is a restaurant review, the other a recipe. And they don’t work in the food industry. what rockstars. Also, the blogs I follow are so different now. (I deleted hundreds from my reader. Gotta keep cutting down so I can have a real life.)

3 thoughts on “Pakwan

  1. I heard Pakwan is so good. My dad used to go there all the time. He said it was one of the best. You’ve been to Shalimar right? If not we should go.

    P.s. you need to update more. ie. we should try new places so you have more to post.

Leave a Reply

