El Tasty Toro

After a semi-fruitful thrifting adventure in Ha/shbury, E and I trekked to The Mission for legit Mexican fare with a vegetarian twist. Throwing caution to the wind, we decided to go with the first busy restaurant we walked by, which turned out to be El Toro Taqueria.

Do poorly-positioned crooked photos bother you? Oops. I was a little rushed because people inside were scrutinizing me.

A clean, well-stocked bar to make all your burrito or taco dreams a reality. Guess what I'm getting installed in my kitchen when I grow up.

A super veggie taco with beans, guacamole, sour cream, lettuce, tomato & salsa and a side of tofu ranchero (7) So fresh--I wish I could go back and re-eat this taco. The tofu was satisfying since I am actually made of 30% tofu, but the flavors were too similar to Chinese food. Lacking in Mexican spices and ultimately unmemorable. I love the option of getting it in a burrito for some extra protein, but I wouldn't get it on the side next time. But the taco and the salsas? They were as good as they look.

A custard filled churro (1.5) to round out the meal. For some reason, combining two freaking awesome foods into one did not work as well as I thought it would.

This meal made me realize I don’t eat enough Mexican food. I love that El Toro is extremely authentic yet veggie-friendly. Rumor has it that there are a few other taquerias with identical menus, so I’m going to check them out. But I’ll be back here, for sure.

FoodUntitledUntitledUntitledUntitled

Service UntitledUntitledUntitledUntitled

Ambiance UntitledUntitledUntitled

Value UntitledUntitledUntitledUntitled

One thought on “El Tasty Toro

  1. saddened that the custard-filled churro was not up to standard. this makes me excited to go back to l.a. and eat mexican food. miss it so much!

Leave a Reply

