God and Grub

A lot went through my mind as I walked through my new neighborhood. I can’t believe it was a year ago that I explored the meager offerings of North Oakland, trying to decide which of the two cafes near me I liked better. (Conclusion: both were great and I ended up switching allegiances midway.) But now there are too many to choose from. And a billion fancy stores that sell inscrutable things–like a salon that doesn’t cut or color or do anything except blowdry hair, and a gallery with five paintings and a very severe man sitting alone inside. And that’s just on one side of my apartment. Three more await. Photos!

my gate

roman catholic church

episcopal church

might not be a church but too pretty to be secular

veggie tacos the size of burritos

soy froyo with cobbler topping

I saw over ten churches but those were the nice ones I remembered to photograph. And yes I live walking distance from my favorite froyo place! The only froyo place worth giving a damn about.

3 thoughts on “God and Grub

Leave a Reply

