OHIO

Getting a phone with a better camera was supposed to increase the amount of photos I take, but I didn’t realize it would kill this blog. There are so many restaurants I want to update with, but the photos I have don’t do them justice. After I move this weekend, I’ll be more conscious of bringing the camera out. Until then, here’s what my phone saw in my recent trip to Ohio.

image

After a day of coffee and plane crackers, I got off in chilly Columbus and was ready to eat. So happy to get my hands on some vegetarian Greek stuffed peppers in the Short North district (the only place in Columbus that doesn't feel like Ohio).

image

J goes to OSU and has been talking about how much I'd love Jeni's ice cream ever since she discovered it. The best part about fancy ice cream in Ohio is that there's not much competition, so Jeni's really pulls out the stops on their flavors and has like five locations now.

image

Cake batter and berry cobbler for those of us who like ice creams masquerading as baked goods.

image

The next morning, a nice walk through Short North again, to visit the market, filled with gourmet food vendors.

image

A stop at Chocoholique, where we had a nice chat with a native Californian salesgirl.

image

Cinnamon rolls and cookies happened here. We also got to crash the chili festival.

image

I'm really bad at capturing the interesting things that happened on this trip, like reuniting with my old elementary school friends and visiting two long-time penpals and going out at night.

image

Every time we passed this cafe called Northstar, it was brimming with people and blasting indie music. Finally, tried it for brunch and as soon as I walked in I felt like I was home. Here's my gorgeous bowl of rice, beans, avocado and veggies.

image

Old friends took me to the Powell district, where we grew up. This was the middle school where I spent a very awkward year. Didn't get a shot of my elementary school, but it looks just like this, but was turned into a community center.

image

My old house, no different than I remember. There's a patch in our front yard that always yields four leaf clovers.

image

Quite a few of my friends worked at frozen custard shops when they were in high school. I was finally able to try this Midwestern delight. After waiting five years, let's just say I was underwhelmed.

image

Spent lots of time at mirror lake at OSU when I was a bebe (before I became Beebe).

image

Their library gives Berkeley a run for its money.

image

The view.

image

But not when it comes to dining hall food. This is a German vegetable pastry smothered with the kind of gravy that scares kids. Fun facts: Ohio has the largest population of Somalians outside of the actual country, a huge German population, and the third highest percentage of gay people per capita. If you're all three, I think you get the key to the city.

To see what’s sucking up all the food photos that should be coming here, visit my tumblr.

One thought on “OHIO

Leave a Reply

